Music Is A Mission

To content | To menu | To search

All Good Funk Alliance - Slingshot Boogie

All Good Funk Alliance Slingshot Boogie
All Good Funk Alliance - Slingshot Boogie
(CD) Funk Weapons, 2008-09-08

Tracklisting :
01. Sock It To Ya
02. Slingshot Boogie (All Good Funk Alliance & Think Tank)
03. Super Jam
04. Top Brass
05. Blastin'
06. REC
07. Twang
08. Get Busy
09. NY Funk
10. Call It
11. Watch Out
12. Watch Out (Malente Remix)
13. REC (Ancient Astronauts Remix)
14. Super Jam (Flow Dynamics Remix)

Note : Features remixes by: Malente, Flow Dynamics, Ancient Astronauts, and Feature Cast! To hear all the songs on the album, see the player below. Includes instrumentals of "Slingshot Boogie"

Links :

Press Release :
"Slingshot Boogie" is the third album from All Good Funk Alliance (AGFA).

This collection of dance floor bombs have been blowing up the dancefloors around the world for some time. For their latest album, they've selected some of their past singles and included some brand new material, which combined, unleash a cornucopia of mid-tempo funk and breaks.

"Sock it To Ya!" starts off the album with a new electro slant to the classic All Good sound featuring stabbing horns and a thumping electro bassline that drives the track over the edge. The title track, "Slingshot Boogie" featuring Think Tank, is a throw-back to those classic party rhyme, hip house records of the early 90s, which were all about having a good time and forgetting the worries of the week. "Super Jam" is a song that speaks for itself and is really the centerpiece of the album, summing up what the AGFA sound is about: slamming funk breaks, dope vocals and horns, all rocking harmoniously to the distant groove that James Brown helped form in the 1970s. Slingshot Boogie also features some more hypnotic and serious grooves in the form of REC and Twang and some straight up b-boy jams on "Top Brass", "Call it", "NY Funk" and "Blastin´". The boys also called on some friends to help give some of the songs a little bit of a different flavor with razor sharp remixes from Flow Dynamics, Malente and the Ancient Astronauts.

Biography :
Hailing from across the Potomac in Alexandria, VA, The All Good Funk Alliance have released several singles since 1997, and they have slowly built a loyal following of people hungry for that organic break-beat funk sound. From running their own labels Funk Weapons and Super Hi-Fi, to remixing Kraak en Smack, Fort Knox Five, Ursula 1000, Woody Herman, etc. the boys have been around the block. Their sound has developed into many different styles from which they have released up-tempo b-boy jams and hip hop as All Good Funk Alliance, and house music as B-team. In 2004 they released “On the One”, a collection of past singles and new songs, on the defunct label Sunswept. In 2005 they self released “Social Comment” their second album which was a politically charged album of hip-hop and down-tempo, featuring the ideals and socially charged views from the mind of Swamburger and Alexandrah. Currently releasing an updated and official album with some new material sprinkled with past hits “Sling-shot Boogie” an album which will show that these boys can move forward with the mid-tempo sound they helped create. Also they are currently working on some projects for the U.K. based label Jalapeno, whom befriended the Alliance back when they were just getting their toes wet. Known to rock a mass of unreleased cuts, fresh beats sprinkled with house and funk, the boys rock clubs from Columbia to San Fran, and play frequently wherever the groove is needed. They have even opened up for the legendary James Brown! An All Good set is bound to make your body move.


Stay informed of all things Paris DJs and beyond thanks to our Twitter news

Comments are closed

You might also like

Vincent Ahehehinnou - Best Woman

Vincent Ahehehinnou - Best Woman (LP, Analog Africa, 2017)

The latest Analog Africa reissue is up for pre-order on Bandcamp! The album, originally a 1978 release by Orchestre Poly Rythmo's singer Vincent Ahehehinnou, is rare-as-shit, worth nearly 4 figures if you can find a decent copy. There's only 4 tunes, two afrofunk monsters and two ballads, but...
Shadow - Sweet Sweet Dreams

Shadow - Sweet Sweet Dreams (CD/2LP, Analog Africa, 2016)

The 22nd Analog Africa release is a beauty people couldn't begin to imagine how the feeling would be to actually be playing it - until now. As rare as it's insanely great, this long-awaited reissue is the holy grail of Shadow albums. The one featuring the monster cosmic soca disco track 'Let’s Get...