Music Is A Mission

To content | To menu | To search

Aldo Vanucci - Straight Lift

Aldo Vanucci Straight Lift
Aldo Vanucci - Straight Lift
(CD) Good Living Records GLRCD001, 2007-09-21

Tracklisting :
01. When I See You Smile
02. Lordy Mama Feat. Benny Diggs
03. Last Goodbye Feat. Foundation
04. In The City Feat. Ahmad
05. I Love You Baby
06. I Am A King Feat. J Todd
07. Needle Of Death
08. Holla Down Feat. Aphletik
09. Just Relax Feat. Jess Mills
10. S.o.u.p
11. Lets Get Down
12. Blow Horace Blow
13. What Would I Do Pt 1 Feat. Jennifer Mcateer
14. What Would I Do Pt 2 Feat. J Todd
15. When I See You Smile (Fatboy Slim Remix)

Links :

Press Release :
Following a rollercoaster of releases on the Brighton based Catskills label, alongside a number of, well lets say less-than-legitimate marriages of music on his won label, the man who ironically refers to himself as "Plymouths 14th Best DJ" finally gets it together for full length album. And boy was it worth waiting for!

Some find it hard to believe that after all this time this is Aldo's debut album, it's been a long time coming and lesser men would have fallen by the industry slip road, and alas - many did. Fortunately, Aldo has a determination that matches his musical ability, so armed with a lifetimes obsessive collection of vinyl, a trusty engineer and producer in Scott Whyte, he set about crafting the sound of summer, a very british summer, where the weather isn't great but you fall in love anyway.

Musically, the album follows a typical Aldo Vanucci DJ set - a bit of soul, a suggestion of funk, some party style hip hop, a cheeky cover version and some firing jazz - all given the charm and finish of a man who is happy at work.

Kicking things off is Aldo's signature tune "When I See You Smile" - a classic feel good funk tune to keep the sun shining all year round. Featured artists come from all over the place - Ahmad from California who had an international hit with "Back in the Day", Altered Vibes and now Domino's superstar in waiting JTodd adds two blessings, Diesel New Music winner Aphletik adds a brilliant rap to a well chopped track that would make Dre proud, Sly and Robbie protege Foundation adds his blissful vocals to a blasphemous reggae cover version of a Jeff Buckley tune, UK soul songstresses Jess Mills and Jennifer McAteer both give that beautiful warm vocal that make for joyful listening wherever you are.

Having supplied samples and breaks to long time friend Norman Cook aka Fatboy Slim, the big beat don returns the favour by sprinkling his magic touch over the classic "When I See You Smile" adding a bubbling reggae style skank, making a perfect close to a great album.

"What a great album! The Best thing I've heard in ages" - Ali B (Air/Fabric)


Stay informed of all things Paris DJs and beyond thanks to our Twitter news

Comments are closed

You might also like

Paris DJs Private Record Store new arrivals & back in stock vinyl #1

Our little record store in the north-east of Paris is slowly but surely becoming a thing, with more and more friendly people coming by to grab the vinyl (or CDs) they've reserved on our discogs page. We were known for welcoming bands and artists to "studio time & diner", now diggers...
Funkadelic - Reworked By Detroiters

Funkadelic - Reworked By Detroiters (CD/12"/3LP, Westbound, 2017)

Paris DJs' history with George Clinton & the Parliament/Funkadelic crew is a very long one… It culminated first in 2006 when we were asked to cook some exclusive remixes (including a mad dub rework from Grant Phabao, approved by the Dr. Funkenstein himself, you can still grab the free download...