Music Is A Mission

To content | To menu | To search

Afro Elements - It Remains To Be Seen

Afro Elements It Remains To Be Seen
Afro Elements - It Remains To Be Seen
(CD) Freestyle Records FSRCD029, 2008-01-18

Tracklisting :
01. Think
02. It Remains To Be Seen
03. Ju Ju
04. Things You Do
05. Latinspiration
06. Volcano
07. Afrolude
08. Four Letter Word
09. Lift Your Life
10. Volcano
11. Choclat
12. Stop You're Killing Me
13. Casa Del Ritmo
14. Heavy Hands
15. Choclat (Mr Gone's Club Sandwich)

Links :

Press Release :
The trio of Simon T. Bramley (bass), Phil Nelson (drums) and Neil Burditt (keyboards) formed in Leicester, UK in May of 1995. Live, the band expands to at least an eight piece, with guitar, horn section, percussion and vocals. The band's influences include Herbie Hancock, George Duke, Jeff Lorber, Banda Black Rio, Earth Wind & Fire, Incognito & Masters At Work.

in 1997 Internal Bass Records (home to Mr Gone & Down To The Bone amongst others) decided to include the cut 'Casa Del Ritmo' on their V/A release 'A Taste of Internal Bass'(IBCD10). The track went down a storm with jazzheads, clubbers and DJ's around the world.

The band followed up this track with a new cut entitled 'It Remains To Be Seen' released on 'Internal Bass...Another Taste' (IBCD15), which was also released on vinyl as part of the band's 'Chocolat EP', which received a fair bit of licensing around the world, with the title track appearing on the massively popular 'Nude Dimensions 2' compilation on Naked Music.

With Afro Elements appearing as backing band to Mr.Gone & other visiting artists throughout Europe, releases came to a brief stop, however many members of the band contributed to the Soul-funk album 'Stories' released in 2005 under the name 'Black Gold Massive'. The album also featured renowned soul vocalist Cindy Mizelle (Steely Dan, Beyonce & Alicia Keys etc) & was mixed by Grammy winner Dave Darlington (Roger Sanchez, Wayne Shorter, MAW etc).

Around this time various members of the band backed a variety of legendary jazz-funk artists including Reuben Wilson, Eddie Henderson & Gary Bartz for tours of the UK & Europe. Indeed, when Eddie Henderson & the band appeared at London's Jazz Cafe for two nights the concerts were cited as one of the gigs of the year by Blues & Soul magazine.

Not to be outdone in all things musical, Afro Elements also do the occasional remix. In 2006 the Afros remixed 'Wildfire Woman (Afro Elements Jazzin' Bossa Mix)' for the Down To The Bone 'Angel Baby' 12" on Shanachie Records , which was well received and has apparently become a bit of a rarity.

After all this The Afro Elements still found time to record their debut album, entitled 'It Remains To Be Seen'. It got its initial release in Japan in April 2007 on Swanky Records. A worldwide release of the debut 7" single 'Stop You're Killing Me' on Freestyle Records (UK) was released in October 2007.

In late 2007 members of the band were used in the new UK Down To The Bone band for dates at the Jazz Cafe in London and the Cotton Club in Tokyo, Japan.

December 2007 sees the worldwide release of 'It Remains To Be Seen on UK label Freestyle Records, and includes newly recorded versions of previously released tracks 'It Remains To Be Seen', 'Ju Ju' and 'Casa Del Ritmo' along with a new vocal version of 'Chocolat'. The album features over 20 musicians including one of the bands heroes, keyboard legend Jeff Lorber on 'Volcano (Raydio Mix)'. Live dates will follow the album release, which the band are looking forward to.


Stay informed of all things Paris DJs and beyond thanks to our Twitter news

Comments are closed

You might also like

Vincent Ahehehinnou - Best Woman

Vincent Ahehehinnou - Best Woman (LP, Analog Africa, 2017)

The latest Analog Africa reissue is up for pre-order on Bandcamp! The album, originally a 1978 release by Orchestre Poly Rythmo's singer Vincent Ahehehinnou, is rare-as-shit, worth nearly 4 figures if you can find a decent copy. There's only 4 tunes, two afrofunk monsters and two ballads, but...
Shadow - Sweet Sweet Dreams

Shadow - Sweet Sweet Dreams (CD/2LP, Analog Africa, 2016)

The 22nd Analog Africa release is a beauty people couldn't begin to imagine how the feeling would be to actually be playing it - until now. As rare as it's insanely great, this long-awaited reissue is the holy grail of Shadow albums. The one featuring the monster cosmic soca disco track 'Let’s Get...