Music Is A Mission

To content | To menu | To search

Afro Baby - Evolution Of The Afro Sound In Nigeria 1970-1979

the best of 2005 part 1
Afro Baby
"Evolution Of The Afro Sound In Nigeria 1970-1979"

Cette compilation de musique du Nigeria est l'équivalent de la "Nigeria 70" sortie chez Strut il y a quelque temps maintenant. On y trouve d'autres tracks, d'autres gens, moins connus. Pour certains qu'on retrouve sur la "World Psychedelic Classics 3" de chez Luaka Bop, en revanche, comme Tunji Oyelana & The Benders, les Sahara Allstars ou Orlando Julius, et bien: pas de souci! Ce sont des morceaux différents...
Le spectre musical est assez large, en forme de panorama de la musique afro 70's sous toutes ses formes, toujours très groove, et pas seulement funk comme avec les autres compilations du label, de la série "Ghana Soundz". Pour la faire courte, c'est une grosse grosse tuerie. Encore une compilation de musique africaine indispensable. C'est vraiment la fête depuis quelques années: merci à Strut, Soundway, Comet et les quelques rares autres qui nous font profiter abondamment de cette culture...

Tracklisting :
01. The Sahara Allstars - Alikali Adajo 8:56
02. Bola Johnson - Lagos Sisi 3:19
03. The Mebusas - Son of Mr. Bulldog 5:20
04. Fela Ransome Kuti & the Africa 70 - Fogo Fogo 8:55
05. The Don Isaac Ezekiel Combination - Ire 3:18
06. Tunji Oyelana & the Benders - Ipasan 5:18
07. Fred Fisher - Asa - Sa 8:06
08. Orlando Julius & his Afro-Sounders - Mura Sise 6:58
09. Thony Shorby Nwenyi - No Wrong Show 5:39
10. Dr. Victor Olaiya's International All Stars - Omelebele 5:50
11. Stephen Osita Amaechi & his Afro-Rhythm-Skies - Afro Baby 3:05
12. The Martins Brothers Dance Band - Ochonma 2:55

Download MP3 Samples sur


Stay informed of all things Paris DJs and beyond thanks to our Twitter news

Comments are closed

You might also like

Shadow - Sweet Sweet Dreams

Shadow - Sweet Sweet Dreams (CD/2LP, Analog Africa, 2016)

The 22nd Analog Africa release is a beauty people couldn't begin to imagine how the feeling would be to actually be playing it - until now. As rare as it's insanely great, this long-awaited reissue is the holy grail of Shadow albums. The one featuring the monster cosmic soca disco track 'Let’s Get...
Papa Chango - The Lost Moon of Bellaris

Papa Chango - The Lost Moon of Bellaris (Limited LP, self-released, 2016) - Exclusive album stream

Mebourne-based Papa Chango put out in 2012 the band a massive cinematic Ethio-funk album, 'The Matador'. After being featured in four episodes of our podcast and one of our afro compilations, they released in 2014 an epic 4-tracks EP , 'Enter The Dragonfly'. They're now back with a new great record,...