Music Is A Mission

To content | To menu | To search

Various - Stay on the Groove 4

Stay On The Groove 4
Various - Stay on the Groove 4 compiled by Adrian Gibson
(CD) Freestyle Records FSRCD045, 2008-11-14

Tracklisting :
01. You Got Me Thinkin - The Tornadoes
02. Hope - Glen Anthony Henry
03. The Players Thems - The Sound Stylistics
04. Panama City - Quantic Soul Orchestra
05. Got To Lose Your Way - The Haggis Horns
06. I Can't Stand It - The Soul Snatchers
07. Keb's Bucket - Cookin On 3 Burners
08. Nervous (Kenny Dope Remix) - NMS
09. Take A Chance - Speedometer
10. Are You Ready To Party? - Mr Comicstore
11. Droppin - Funkshone
12. Killin It - The Dynamites
13. Emu Brown - Mike L
14. Rampage - The Whitefield Brothers
15. Billy's Popcorn - Brand New Rhythm
16. Wait A Minute - Lack Of Afro
17. Turn It Up - Opensouls

Links :

Press Release : Well, here we are now with Volume 4 of the hugely successful Stay on the Groove series. The idea of this was to showcase some of the excellent Funk 45's that were being released around the world but annoyingly were not turning up anywhere on CD for the non-DJ / Vinly Junkie listener to check out.

Kicking off Volume 4 we have one of the best Funk 45's to be released in the past decade. The Tornadoes featuring Tyra Hammond's "You got me Thinkin' " is Sister Funk of the highest order . Next up we have "Hope" from Glen Anthony Henry. Originally from Los Angeles, Glen has collaborated with Dr. Dre, Erykah Badu and many more. "Hope" is taken from Glen's debut album "Relax and Love".

The Sound Stylistics started out life as a studio project in 2002 for the Library label Bruton. "The Players Theme" was released as a limited edition of 500 copies last year which all sold out in less than 2 hours.
The Quantic Soul Orchestra hardly need any introduction . "Panama City" is from his excellent "Tropidelico" album. "Got to lose your Way" by the Haggis Horns could easily pass itself off as a classic Tower of Power track, while Amsterdam based The Soul Snatchers "I Can't stand it" was recently hailed by Keb Darge as the best new funk recording of the past 12 months and features the vocals of 70's Dutch Funk legend Jimi BellMartin.

DJ Bobesch brings his Deep Funk project to life. All of their records are not available in any record shop and have sold out through word of mouth on vinyl only. We present the killer "Billy's Popcorn" on CD for the first time here.

Cookin' on 3 Burners tribute to Keb Darge's "Bucket" ( as essential part of his rider when he toured Australia apparently ) is a monster groove which is amazing considering there is only three people making this big loud sound.

From Japan we have Mr. Comicstore with his uptempo Funk killer ( on CD for the first time again here! ) featuring the vocals of Nicole Willis.

"Wait a minute" was Lack of Afro's first single which used a looped break from Simon Allen ( the drummer with the New Mastersounds ). Which brings us to the next track, a lovely Kenny Dope remix of the New Mastersounds "Nervous", Speedometer's "Take a chance" is another killer Leigh Gracie original. It is taken from their latest album "Four flights up" which is one of the best Funk albums of the past few years.

Charles Bradley and the Dynamites "Killin it' is featured on a limited edition ( 500 only pressed ) 45 to promote this compilation. On the other side of the 45 we "Turn it up" by Open Souls who are basically the same group as the Tornadoes who started the album off and once again feature the amazing vocals of Tyra Hammond. Check the video of this track on


Stay informed of all things Paris DJs and beyond thanks to our Twitter news

Comments are closed

You might also like

Brownout - Iron Leg

Premiere : Brownout - Iron Leg (Mickey & The Soul Generation cover)

Austin-based Level One Sound run by our esteemed collegue Adrian Quesada has been the home to many great recordings, from The Funk Ark, Brownout, David Garza, Deer Tick, Natalia Clavier, The Echocentrics, The Electric Peanut Butter Co., Third Root, Money Chicha, etc. - A full fledged...
The Frightnrs - Nothing More To Say

The Frightnrs - Nothing More To Say (CD/LP, Daptone, 2016)

An instant classic, this fantastic reggae-rocksteady album strives directly for legendary status. It's the first album from The Frightnrs, a Brooklyn band signed on the Daptone label, but it'll also be the last one, alas. Dan Klein, the singer with the magical tone, died from ALS last june. Produced...