Music Is A Mission

To content | To menu | To search

Various - Shapes 10:02 - Compiled by Rob Luis - out on Tru Thoughts

Shapes 10 02Shapes 10 02
Various - Shapes 10:02 - Compiled by Rob Luis
(2xCD/Digital) Tru Thoughts TRUCD226, 2010-12-06

The new bi-annual Shapes Compilation from Tru Thoughts is a killer one. 16 tracks on the first CD that make for an enjoyable listen at home or on the mp3 player and 14 on the second one which has an ear to the dancefloor... Including lots of exclusives, new tracks, rare remixes, as always...

Shapes 10 02
Various - Shapes 10:02 - Compiled by Rob Luis
(2xCD/Digital) Tru Thoughts TRUCD226, 2010-12-06

Tracklisting CD 1 :
01. Flowering Inferno - Dog With A Rope (Dub)
02. Natural Self - Midnight Sun (Prince Fatty Dub)
03. Smerins Anti-Social Club - Dr Who
04. Kylie Auldist - Community Service Announcement (Lanu Remix)
05. Alice Russell - Hurry On Now (Boub Remix)
06. Maddslinky - Further Away feat. Tawiah
07. Lizzy Parks - This And That (PTH Mix)
08. Nostalgia 77 - Beautiful Lie
09. Kinny - Afro Love Forest (Stonephace Mix)
10. Hidden Orchestra - The Windfall
11. Belleruche - 3 Amp Fuse
12. Quantic & His Combo Bárbaro - Mas Pan (Dj Day Remix)
13. Skeletons - Marathon Man
14. Lanu - Jean Paul
15. Azaxx - Loungin Place feat. Larry 'Stonephace' Stabbins

Tracklisting CD 2 :
01. Saravah Soul - Mussum (Quantic Remix)
02. The Bamboos - Keep Me In Mind (Randomer Remix)
03. Hint - Pretty Stable
04. Maddslinky - Special feat. Omar (At Jazz Remix)
05. Kylie Auldist - One Goodbye (Hint Remix)
06. Flevans - Foot Tied
07. Lizzy Parks - Raise The Roof (Lanu Remix)
08. Azaxx - The Cyber Convicts
09. Kinny - Back Street Lust feat. Diesler (Azaxx Remix)
10. The Bamboos - Up On The Hill (DJ Yoda Edit)
11. Natural Self - All Static (Natural Self Remix)
12. Stonephace - The Horn Track
13. Flevans - Easy Go feat. Kylie Auldist
14. Benjamin One - God Is On Your Side

Links :
Buy it first on

Shapes 10 02

Liner notes :
"Whenever people ask me what type of music Tru Thoughts releases, I alsways find it difficult to repsond. This compilation really exemplifies what Tru Thoughts is about - hard to pingeonhole, ut for anyone who doesn't take their musical drinks from the main stream I'm sure you'll love most, if not all, of the music here. I genuinely don't want Tru Thoughts to be an elitist record label, so there are tracks on here that could compete with plenty of mainstrea music. Check The Bamboos, Maddslinky, Belleruche and Alice Russell for some great songs sung with passion which could seat on any daytime radio or video playlist (but probably won't, as we can't spend £100.000 promoting an album!). But I feel this is what makes the artists signed to the label so good... they're hungry to make music... whatever the genre. Hidden Orchestra hit you with the deep cinematic grooves, Benjamin One comes with the heavy beats for the heads, Maddslinky & Hint go for the big bass wobblers whilst Stonephace take a rave classic from Micky Finn into psychedelic jazz territory; plus that tropical reggae fusion vibe is explored by Quantic on his critically acclaimed Flowering Inferno project. The tracks on the first CD make for an enjoyable listen at home or on the mp3 player and the second CD has an ear to the dancefloor. If you like any of the artists on here please check their albums on tru Thoughts too. thanks for supporting the music." - Robert Luis (A&R and co-owner of Tru Thoughts)

Press Release :
On the second 'Shapes' compilation of 2010, out 6th December, Tru Thoughts A&R Robert Luis treats your ears to a whopping 30 tracks from artists across the label's roster. The two disc collection includes more previously unreleased and exclusive cuts than ever, as well as many that have only previously been available on limited vinyl and now make an appearance on CD.

As has become the tradition, the first CD is more of a kick back and listen style and the second CD is a little more focused on the dancefloor.

Among the exclusive tracks are Quantic's remix of Saravah Soul; Smerin's Anti Social Club doing a great reggae version of Dr Who; and Stonephace (feat Adrian Utley from Portishead) reworking a Micky Finn rave classic into a psychedelic jazz monster. Tru Thoughts' new signing Maddslinky (aka Zed Bias) also makes a couple of appearances including the highly rated British future soul track "Further Away" (which was voted in the Top 5 tunes of 2009 in Gilles Peterson's Worldwide awards even though it's not out yet). This is taken from the new album, 'Make A Change', which has been racking up four and five star reviews across the board and had radio support from BBC Radio 1 and 1Xtra DJs including Annie Mac, Ras Kwame, MistaJam, Gilles Peterson and more.

CD One starts with a more reggae influenced groove with Quantic's Flowering Inferno, Prince Fatty, Alice Russell and Lanu all getting on the Jamaican influenced tip. It then moves into more soulful/sung vocal territory including an upfront track from Nostalgia 77's upcoming album (due in 2011) through to the cinematic sound of the amazing Hidden Orchestra, whose debut album, 'Night Walks' has just been released to high acclaim and was September's Album of the Month on BBC Radio 1 Introducing in Scotland.

CD Two has plenty of treats with Randomer's remix of The Bamboos (as played to great reactions by tastemakers including the legend Danny Krivit);  At Jazz remixing Maddslinky; a couple of exclusives from Flevans and some hard beats from Benjamin One (out of Bristol).

The 'Shapes 10:02' compilation will also be out on double vinyl (which also includes the double CD) featuring an exclusive vinyl only track from Benjamin One.

The cover artwork features the photo, "Embedded", by USA based artist Mark Jenkins. It's no photoshop job, but a picture of a sculpture he made stuffed with balls of sellotape, leaning into that wall!


Stay informed of all things Paris DJs and beyond thanks to our Twitter news

Comments are closed

You might also like

Vincent Ahehehinnou - Best Woman

Vincent Ahehehinnou - Best Woman (LP, Analog Africa, 2017)

The latest Analog Africa reissue is up for pre-order on Bandcamp! The album, originally a 1978 release by Orchestre Poly Rythmo's singer Vincent Ahehehinnou, is rare-as-shit, worth nearly 4 figures if you can find a decent copy. There's only 4 tunes, two afrofunk monsters and two ballads, but...
Shadow - Sweet Sweet Dreams

Shadow - Sweet Sweet Dreams (CD/2LP, Analog Africa, 2016)

The 22nd Analog Africa release is a beauty people couldn't begin to imagine how the feeling would be to actually be playing it - until now. As rare as it's insanely great, this long-awaited reissue is the holy grail of Shadow albums. The one featuring the monster cosmic soca disco track 'Let’s Get...