Music Is A Mission

To content | To menu | To search

Tru Thoughts Artists - Tru Thoughts Compilation - out on Tru Thoughts

Tru Thoughts Compilation
Tru Thoughts Artists
- Tru Thoughts Compilation
(CD) Tru Thoughts TRUCD216, 2010-09-06

An essential collection highlighting some of the amazing music from the Tru Thoughts record label. Artists include Quantic, Bonobo, Alice Russell, Belleruche, Beth Rowley and Stonephace featuring Adrian Utley (Portishead).

Tru Thoughts Artists

Tru Thoughts Artists
- Tru Thoughts Compilation
(CD) Tru Thoughts TRUCD216, 2010-09-06

Tracklisting :
01. Quantic & His Combo Barbaro - The Dreaming Mind (Part 1)
02. Kylie Auldist - In A Week, In A Day (Ashley Beedle's Streetsoul Edit)
03. Flevans - Lay Back feat. Sarah Scott (Regal Mix)
04. Belleruche - The Itch (Acoustic Version)
05. Bonobo - Kota
06. Quantic - Time Is The Enemy
07. TM Duke - Pencils For Dolphins
08. Nostalgia 77 - Quiet Dawn feat. Beth Rowley (Bonobo Mix)
09. Natural Self - The Rising feat. Andreya Triana (Broken Keys Remix)
10. Kinny - Afro Love Forest feat. Hint
11. Milez Benjiman - Chop That Wood
12. Lizzy Parks - Forever And A Day (Eric Lau Remix)
13. The Bamboos - I Don't Wanna Stop (Acoustic Version)
14. Alice Russell - Sweet Is The Air feat. Natureboy
15. Stonephace ft Adrian Utley (Portishead) - Yellow Brick Road

Links :

Press Release :
Tru Thoughts will be releasing the Tru Thoughts Compilation in September with a recommended retail price of just 99p in the UK, and similarly nominal sums elsewhere.

Bringing together some of the most popular songs on the Tru Thoughts catalogue and a sprinkling of timeless instrumentals, from world-respected acts including Quantic, Bonobo, Alice Russell, Nostalgia 77, Belleruche, Hot 8 Brass Band and Stonephace (featuring the Portishead guitarist Adrian Utley), the compilation is packed with quality. Alongside these Tru Thoughts signings, past and present, you'll also find an impressive roll call of guest artists, including rising UK soul singer of the moment Andreya Triana (Ninja Tune); BRIT nominated blues/jazz singer Beth Rowley (Universal), whose 2009 debut album went Top 10 in the UK charts; and remixer Ashley Beedle, who scored a UK No. 1 single as one half of X-Press 2 with the worldwide smash hit "Lazy".

In addition to the musical pedigree on offer here, the Tru Thoughts Compilation's striking cover artwork features the painting, ‘Destiny', by the rising US-based street artist René Gagnon, making for an all-round irresistible physical package, all for roughly the price of a couple of single track downloads. A fantastic introduction to the label for the uninitiated, and a handy bonus buy for those in the know, the aim is to re-emphasise the satisfaction and value that can be found in the legal purchase of good quality music, with the obvious bonus of introducing a new set of music lovers to the oeuvre of Tru Thoughts, one of the UK's foremost independent labels.

Rich Medina "I'm one of the greatest Tru Thoughts fans on the planet."
Neal Sugarman (owner of Daptone Records) "Tru Thoughts is the type of label that inspired me to own and run a record label."
Gilles Peterson (BBC Radio 1): "Tru Thoughts, Brighton – that's what it's all about!"
Laurent Garnier: "I love the Tru Thoughts label."


Stay informed of all things Paris DJs and beyond thanks to our Twitter news

Comments are closed

You might also like

Paris DJs Private Record Store new arrivals & back in stock vinyl #1

Our little record store in the north-east of Paris is slowly but surely becoming a thing, with more and more friendly people coming by to grab the vinyl (or CDs) they've reserved on our discogs page. We were known for welcoming bands and artists to "studio time & diner", now diggers...
Funkadelic - Reworked By Detroiters

Funkadelic - Reworked By Detroiters (CD/12"/3LP, Westbound, 2017)

Paris DJs' history with George Clinton & the Parliament/Funkadelic crew is a very long one… It culminated first in 2006 when we were asked to cook some exclusive remixes (including a mad dub rework from Grant Phabao, approved by the Dr. Funkenstein himself, you can still grab the free download...