Music Is A Mission

To content | To menu | To search

The Sure Fire Soul Ensemble - Layin Low (Timeless Takeover 45, 2013)

The deep funk revival was ignited way back in the 90s by The Poets of Rhythm in Germany, the Dap-Kings family in New York.. or, before anyone else, The Greyboy Allstars in San Diego, where a new instrumental soul band is following in the footsteps of its elders: The Sure Fire Soul Ensemble. Their blend of influences from those 3 legendary bands is surely addictive, and their first 45 is announcing some great news for the future!

The Sure Fire Soul Ensemble Layin Low
The Sure Fire Soul Ensemble - Layin Low
(Format) Timeless Takeover TT-101, 2013-03-26

Tracklisting :
A1. Layin Low 3:01
B1. IB Struttin 3:38

Note : Debut 7" 45rpm vinyl single. Limited Edition - 500 copies only.

Credits :
Tim Felten - Hammond, Farfisa, Wurli, Shakere, Woodblock
Chris Lea - Baritone/Tenor Sax and Flute
Matthew LaBarber - Bass
Pete Williams - Drums
Kiko Cornejo Jr. - Congas, Tamborine
Nicholas Costa - Guitar
Bill Caballero - Trumpet, Flugelhorn
Recorded and mixed by Tim Felten
Mastered by Dave Cooley @ Elysian Mastering

Links :
bandcamp | discogs | facebook | soundcloud | youtube

Press Release :
The Sure Fire Soul Ensemble is a hard hitting, original, instrumental soul band based in San Diego. Ranging at times from a 7 to 9 piece band, they draw influence from the masters of the style from the past and modern day, including: Quincy Jones, Jimmy McGriff, The Meters, Isaac Hayes, and The Poets of Rhythm.

The Sure Fire Soul Ensemble mixes soul jazz, cinematic soul, funk, and rare groove music to create a fun and heavy live music experience. Featuring screaming vintage Hammond Organ and vibey Wurlitzer Electric Piano, combined with soulful flute, trumpet, flugelhorn, and tenor and baritone saxes.

All mixed together with a hard grooving rhythm section, you'd swear you were listening to the soundtrack of your favorite early 70's action flick.

Members of The Sure Fire Soul Ensemble are also current or former members of the bands: Pocket, Quetzal, The Bi-National Mambo Orchestra, The K23 Orchestra, In Motion Collective, The Soulfires, Melly Frances and The Distilled Spirits, The Black Sands, and Mochilla Presents: Timeless (Suite for Ma Dukes and Verocai).


Stay informed of all things Paris DJs and beyond thanks to our Twitter news

Comments are closed

You might also like

Paris DJs Private Record Store new arrivals & back in stock vinyl #1

Our little record store in the north-east of Paris is slowly but surely becoming a thing, with more and more friendly people coming by to grab the vinyl (or CDs) they've reserved on our discogs page. We were known for welcoming bands and artists to "studio time & diner", now diggers...
Funkadelic - Reworked By Detroiters

Funkadelic - Reworked By Detroiters (CD/12"/3LP, Westbound, 2017)

Paris DJs' history with George Clinton & the Parliament/Funkadelic crew is a very long one… It culminated first in 2006 when we were asked to cook some exclusive remixes (including a mad dub rework from Grant Phabao, approved by the Dr. Funkenstein himself, you can still grab the free download...