Music Is A Mission

To content | To menu | To search

The Mighty Sparrow - Doctor Bird - Soca Anthology - out on VP Records

Mighty Sparrow Doctor Bird Soca Anthology
The Mighty Sparrow - Doctor Bird - Soca Anthology
(2CD+DVD) VP Records VPCD4173, 2011-05-17

Deluxe digipak with 30 essential hits on two CDs, extensive booklet with liner notes & photos, and a DVD containing interviews with friends and Soca luminaries, Alvin Daniell, Roy Cape, Diana Rhyner, Winston 'Gypsy' Peters, Ed Watson & Holly Betaudier interspersed with vintage performance footage. Slinger Francisco aka The Mighty Sparrow aka Doctor Bird is a living legend and iconic entertainers with over 50 years in the business. For many, The Mighty Sparrow has defined Calypso and Soca through the years with the countless hits he's recorded. 'Doctor Bird' is a reference to the many awards that Sparrow has received including an honorary Doctorate from the University of the West Indies. He is also known as the reigning King of Calypso.

Mighty Sparrow Doctor Bird Soca Anthology
The Mighty Sparrow - Doctor Bird - Soca Anthology
(2CD+DVD) VP Records VPCD4173, 2011-05-17

Tracklisting CD1 :
01. Jean And Dinah 3:45
02. Congo Man 4:06
03. Obeah Wedding 3:32
04. Bendwood Dick 3:07
05. Sparrow Dead 3:29
06. Sell The Pussy 3:46
07. Mother-In-Law 6:17
08. Willie Dead 6:22
09. Tobago Girls 5:56
10. Doh Drop The Tempo 4:38
11. Gu Nu Gu 6:11
12. Love African Style 6:22
13. May May (Mae Mae) 4:50
14. Only A Fool aka Only A Fool Breaks His Own Heart 2:44
15. Lying Excuses 7:06

Tracklisting CD2 :
01. Mother's Love 5:43
02. Saltfish (Solfish) 8:06
03. Maria 3:03
04. Mas In Caracas 4:16
05. Sixty Million French Men 5:47
06. How You Jamming So 4:41
07. Wood In The Fire 2:48
08. Ah Fraid Pussy Bite Me 6:09
09. Sparrow Water De Garden 5:51
10. Dead Or Alive 4:23
11. Village Ram 6:06
12. Whole Night We Jamming 5:23
13. Ten To One 5:09
14. Mr. Walker 5:10
15. Drunk & Disorderly Medley 7:19

DVD : over 90 minutes of interviews & live performance footage

Links :



Stay informed of all things Paris DJs and beyond thanks to our Twitter news

Comments are closed

You might also like

Funkadelic - Reworked By Detroiters

Funkadelic - Reworked By Detroiters (CD/12"/3LP, Westbound, 2017)

Paris DJs' history with George Clinton & the Parliament/Funkadelic crew is a very long one… It culminated first in 2006 when we were asked to cook some exclusive remixes (including a mad dub rework from Grant Phabao, approved by the Dr. Funkenstein himself, you can still grab the free download...
Kologbo - Africa Is The Future

6th of September - It's Kologbo Day! A 4th track revealed from "Africa Is The Future" upcoming LP, featuring Tony Allen, Pat Thomas & Ayo

Paris DJs followers should be aware by now, we're not joking, every 6th of the month is Kologbo day! Later this year on upcoming 6ths of the month we'll unveil some brand new productions recorded this summer, but until then we're proud to keep on revealing new tunes from Fela's tenor guitar player...