Music Is A Mission

To content | To menu | To search

Sierra Leone's Refugee All Stars - Radio Salone - out on Cumbancha Records

Sierra Leone Refugee All Stars Radio Salone
Sierra Leone's Refugee All Stars - Radio Salone
(CD/2xLP/Digital) Cumbancha Records CMBCD 23, 2012-04-30

After the #1 World Music Charts Europe album Rise & Shine released in 2010, the Sierra Leone's Refugee All Stars have been collaborating with our friend DJ Logic on a remix album, Rise & Shine Remixed, and then went to famous roots reggae, soul & Afrobeat producer Victor Axelrod, aka Ticklah, keyboard player from Antibalas, Sharon Jones and The Dap-Kings, Amy Winehouse, Easy Star All Stars and more… to produced their third and new album, Radio Salone, recorded at Menahan Street Band's Dunham Studios in Brooklyn. Those guys have taste! We played their massive afro-soca single Mother In Law in our latest afro mega-selection 21st Century Afro Spectacular Vol.2 but there's a lot more coming from this full-length Afro recording. As with all Ticklah productions, the sound is wide and spacey, clear as if the band was playing right on your own lawn, a feat rarely achieved these days in the 70s-influenced roots music scene. The grooves shift from soca to afrofunk, through reggae, zouk and highlife, making this album a sophisticated affair of purely refined 21st Century Afro-Carribean music.

Sierra Leone Refugee All Stars Radio Salone
Sierra Leone's Refugee All Stars - Radio Salone
(CD/2xLP/Digital) Cumbancha Records CMBCD 23, 2012-04-30

Tracklisting :
01. Chant It Down
02. Gbara Case
03. Mother In Law
04. Gombay Interlude: Rain Come Sun Come
05. Reggae Sounds The Message
06. Mampama
07. Kali
08. Gombay Interlude: Papa Franco
09. Man Muyu
10. Toman Teti M'Ba Akala
11. Big Fat Dog
12. Gombay Interlude: Shake Your Body
13. Yesu Gorbu
14. Work It Brighter
15. Remake The World Again
16. Gombay Interlude: A'Salamaleichem

Links :
Buy on Juno
Connect with Sierra Leone's Refugee All Stars on

‪Sierra Leone's Refugee All Stars - Mother In Law


Stay informed of all things Paris DJs and beyond thanks to our Twitter news

Comments are closed

You might also like

Paris DJs Private Record Store new arrivals & back in stock vinyl #1

Our little record store in the north-east of Paris is slowly but surely becoming a thing, with more and more friendly people coming by to grab the vinyl (or CDs) they've reserved on our discogs page. We were known for welcoming bands and artists to "studio time & diner", now diggers...
Funkadelic - Reworked By Detroiters

Funkadelic - Reworked By Detroiters (CD/12"/3LP, Westbound, 2017)

Paris DJs' history with George Clinton & the Parliament/Funkadelic crew is a very long one… It culminated first in 2006 when we were asked to cook some exclusive remixes (including a mad dub rework from Grant Phabao, approved by the Dr. Funkenstein himself, you can still grab the free download...