Music Is A Mission

To content | To menu | To search

Praise Poems - A Journey Into Deep, Soulful Jazz & Funk From The 1970s (CD/2LP, Tramp Records, 2015)

Tramp Records in Germany is a label we've learned to trust over the years, for the quality of their releases, the diversity of the themes they choose to explore, and the hard work they put into digging for stuff that hasn't been reissued yet. Their new, deeply groovy & soulful compilation 'Praise Poems' is a fantastic weapon of seduction, a record for a silky evening, with a different vibe than the norm since all the songs appear on CD/digital for the very first time. The whole affair is all about soul, funk and jazz. You won't find any weak track in there, it's an all-killer, no-filler selection with an evolving, but constantly funky groove all along. This is one where your companion might inquirie about the cool music non stop, in which case the record itself will make a perfect gift, with its 8-page CD booklet or the LP detailed liner notes…

Praise Poems - A Journey Into Deep, Soulful Jazz and Funk From The 1970s
Various - Praise Poems - A Journey Into Deep, Soulful Jazz & Funk From The 1970s
(CD/2LP) Tramp Records TR-9041, 2015-02-16

Tracklisting :
01. Warmth - Praise Poems 6:17
02. Larry Covin - Carefree 2:26
03. Jorge Darden - Alone Again 4:03
04. Lee Stone - What Is Life 2:21
05. Ulysses Crockett - Resurgence 4:12
06. The P.T.S. - Dragon Rock 2:58
07. Cookie Thomas - Black Velvet Soul (Part 1) 2:53
08. Cookie Thomas - Black Velvet Soul (Part 2) 2:16
09. Bold Breed - Let Me Down Easy feat. B.G. 3:05
10. Larry Dismond - God of Thunder and Lightning (Shango) 2:46
11. Raspberries - Strawberries 2:43
12. Bobby Stroup - Wait For Me 2:41
13. Far Out - The Way I See It 2:42
14. Tom Macke - Can You Understand Sacrifice 2:58
15. Gemstones - Cold Soul 3:24
16. Innerflight - Tribute To Ruffian (Part 1&2) 7:25
17. Seeds of Fulfillment - Solemn Solitude 4:28

Links :
Tramp Records : official | bandcamp | discogs | juno | parisdjs | youtube

Press Release :
To all our respected critics, reviewers, and wisenheimer: be prepared to listen to this album in tranquility. If you do not do so you will most likely rate this release one out of five stars. And this is something which it certainly does not deserve. This album needs time and patience to be fully understood. And if you do so you will be enlightened by the true beauty of this selection.

Not only for Don McCaslin's project Warmth the time has come for representation and appreciation. All the songs on this disc are well worth to be discovered. No matter if you skip to Jorge Darden's jazzy-soulful "Alone Again" or to Seeds of Fulfillment's stunning "Solemn Solitude". Each and every song is a masterpiece in its own right. Funky soul music fans will be pleased to get a chance to listen to Cookie Thomas and Bold Breed, two cuts which are hard to find in its original format. Rarity is one thing, quality is another. The songs to be found here are both rare and good. Better yet, until now, all of these tracks had not yet been compiled.

After Movements and Feeling Nice, two already well-established compilation series on Tramp, Praise Poems could be the start of a new successful one. It was solely the title track which lead us to release this album. Don't ask if there will be a Volume 2. We don't know yet. What we do know is that if we ever come across a similar tour de force as Don McCaslin's compostion, then there will certainly be one.



Stay informed of all things Paris DJs and beyond thanks to our Twitter news

Comments are closed

You might also like

Kologbo - Africa Is The Future

Every 6th of the month is now officially Kologbo day !

Kologbo was Fela's tenor guitar player in Afrika 70. He's been teaching Afrobeat all around the world those last years: Berlin with Afrobeat Academy, Brazil with Abayomy Afrobeat Orquestra Iconili or Amplexos, Chile with Newen Afrobeat, Belgium with World Squad, France with Les Frères Smith or...
Pop Makossa - The Invasive Dance Beat of Cameroon 1976-1984

Various - Pop Makossa - The Invasive Dance Beat of Cameroon 1976-1984 (CD/LP, Analog Africa, 2017)

2017 might be Cameroon's year after its victory at the 2017 Africa Cup of Nations, but German label Analog Africa prove once again they're hands-down the world champions of 1970s African music reissues with this funky and irresistible "Pop Makossa" compilation, focusing on the vintage...