Music Is A Mission

To content | To menu | To search

Oneness Of Juju - Space Jungle Luv

Oneness Of Juju Space Jungle LuvOneness Of Juju Space Jungle Luv
Oneness Of Juju - Space Jungle Luv
(CD/2xLP) Strut STRUTCD/LP028, 2002-04-29

"Strut continue their re-issue programme of the '70s catalogue of Oneness Of Juju, one of the most groundbreaking bands of their time. From early avant-garde jazz work on the Strata East label to their later fusions of Afrobeat, funk and spritual jazz, Oneness stand as a huge influence for today's jazz scene.

'Space Jungle Luv' was recorded and released in 1976 as the follow-up to Oneness Of Juju's breakthrough 'African Rhythms' set. The album moved the band away from the dancefloor and into the realms of Sun Ra's cosmology, bringing modal jazz and ambient atmospherics into their music. The funky basslines and African percussion remain but within a more melodic setting showcasing the incredible vocals of Jackie Holoman-Lewis to the full."

Oneness Of Juju Space Jungle Luv
Oneness Of Juju - Space Jungle Luv
(CD/2xLP) Strut STRUTCD/LP028, 2002-04-29

Tracklisting CD :
01 River Luv Rite 8:03
02 Follow Me 4:57
03 Soul Love Now 4:50
04 Space Jungle Funk 9:36
05 The Connection 3:18
06 Love's Messenger 3:07
07 Love's Messenger (Instrumental) 3:05
08 F# 3:17
09 Bootsie's Lament 7:07
10 African Rhythms Chant 2:03
11 Got To Be Right On It 5:18

Tracklisting 2xLP :
A1 River Luv Rite
A2 Follow Me
A3 Soul Love Now
B1 Space Jungle Funk
B2 The Connection
B3 Love's Messenger
B4 Love's Messenger (Instrumental)
C1 F# (Previously Unreleased)
C2 Bootsie's Lament
D1 African Rhythem's Chant
D2 Got To Be Right On It

Links :

Credits :
Bass, Percussion, Vocals - Muzi Branch
Drums - Ronnie Toler
Guitar - Melvin Glover (tracks: Ras Mel Melvin Glover Jr.)
Mixed By, Producer - Jimmy Gray
Saxophone, Percussion, Vocals, Mixed By, Producer - Plunky Branch

Original LP released as BF19754 on Black Fire was recorded on June 4th 1976.
Track 8 was recorded in 1975 at eastern Recording Studios, Richmond, VA, and is previously unreleased.
Tracks 10 & 11 originally released as BF1002 and were recorded at Arrest Recording Studios, washington DC in 1977.

Oneness Of Juju Space Jungle Luv


Stay informed of all things Paris DJs and beyond thanks to our Twitter news

Comments are closed

You might also like

Paris DJs Private Record Store new arrivals & back in stock vinyl #1

Our little record store in the north-east of Paris is slowly but surely becoming a thing, with more and more friendly people coming by to grab the vinyl (or CDs) they've reserved on our discogs page. We were known for welcoming bands and artists to "studio time & diner", now diggers...
Funkadelic - Reworked By Detroiters

Funkadelic - Reworked By Detroiters (CD/12"/3LP, Westbound, 2017)

Paris DJs' history with George Clinton & the Parliament/Funkadelic crew is a very long one… It culminated first in 2006 when we were asked to cook some exclusive remixes (including a mad dub rework from Grant Phabao, approved by the Dr. Funkenstein himself, you can still grab the free download...