Music Is A Mission

To content | To menu | To search

Norman Jay MBE presents Good Times 30th Anniversary Edition - out on Strut Records

Norman Jay MBE presents Good Times 30th Anniversary Edition border=
Norman Jay MBE presents Good Times 30th Anniversary Edition
(CD/Vinyl/Download) Strut Records STRUT080, 2011-07-19

Norman Jay started with his brother Joey the Good Times Sound System 30 years ago... I vividly remember the 1997 compilation, Gilles Peterson & Norman Jay - Desert Island Mix, one of the first eclectic ones I bought. After the amazement of 1995's Journeys By DJ: Coldcut - 70 Minutes Of Madness I thought I was in for another trippy voyage. Deeply into music, I must admit that the whole rare groove / club classics DJ thing felt like one of the most boring experience I could find, as compared to Phish concerts that were happening in small venues in Europe at the time, for example. Daft Punk also started to "happen" at that time, and, in comparison, it really was the shittiest stuff you could find: re-named re-mixes of old disco clubby tracks. One kind was music, the other was soooo cheap... Well, the same way you can't compare McDonald's with real food, you can't compare dance music with jazz... Years later I'm finally starting to listen to some selected pieces of dance music such as disco (especially the ones coming from the re-edit scene), modern soul or souful deep house, but I still can't understand what the fuck!? with Daft Punk and many others in the same vein... Norman Jay, like most of the european DJs, must have missed the whole American scene from the last 20 years, but that didn't stop him from releasing more than a dozen superb and eclectic compilations, including 9 volumes of the Good Times series which present the music he's been playing at London's famous Notting Hill Carnival (vol.1 to vol.7 + Good Times London and Good Times Australia). This new compilation celebrates Norman Jay's 30 years of residency at this summer festival, and... well it's pure killer stuff. It's not psychedelic, mind-expanding music. It's not delicate bossa or hyped-now African funk. It's not revolutionnary at all. It's disco, soul, deep house, reggae, jazz and hip hop. Timeless club and festival grooves and vibes, from one of the British experts of the genre. And definitively one for the summer - that's been playing on repeat on my stereo!!

Norman Jay MBE presents Good Times 30th Anniversary Edition border=
Norman Jay MBE presents Good Times 30th Anniversary Edition
(CD/Vinyl/Download) Strut Records STRUT080, 2011-07-19

Tracklisting :
01. Mark Capanni - I Believe in Miracles
02. Avery Sunshine - I Got Sunshine
03. Ted Taylor - Ghetto Disco (Edit)
04. Zalmac - Dreamin’
05. Terri Wells - Who’s That Stranger
06. Little Anthony & The Imperials - I Don't Have Time to Worry
07. Mario Biondi - My Girl
08. Jacob Miller & Inner Circle - Tired Fe Lick Weed in a Bush
09. The Basement Khemist - Everybody (L I F E)
10. J Boogie's Dubtronic Science feat. Goapele and Capitol A - Try Me (People Under The Stairs Remix)
11. Attic Tree - Voar
12. Curtis Mayfield - Victory
13. Dante - Freak in Me
14. Fries & Bridges - Forever This
15. The Detroit Experiment - Think Twice (Henrik Schwarz Remix)
16. Ashley Slater - Private Sunshine

Links :
Norman Jay : official | twitter | facebook | soundcloud |
Strut Records : official | facebook | soundcloud | twitter | youtube | myspace

Press Release :
This Summer, Strut teams up with one of the most revered of all DJs, Norman Jay MBE, to celebrate 30 years of Good Times, the party that changed the face of the Notting Hill Carnival and which has become a Summertime fixture at festivals worldwide. Jay set up his first sound system, Great Tribulation, in 1979 with his brother Joey which became Good Times Sound System in 1981, the start of a 30-year residency at Notting Hill Carnival. Norman changed the face of the music played there, introducing a range of gritty, soulful styles to complement the predominantly reggae-based sound systems. The move paved the way for the open-minded Carnival we know today, with Good Times still at its core.

From Good Times, Jay’s career burgeoned. He became a key DJ during the ‘80s London rare groove scene, hosting a series of legendary clubs - Shake ‘N’ Fingerpop, High On Hope (inspired by New York’s Paradise Garage) and famed sessions at London’s Bass Clef (later the Blue Note), all of which built his reputation for open-minded soulful selections spanning soul, funk, disco, early house, reggae and hip hop. Through his club nights, he was one of the first to introduce legendary US DJs like Tony Humphries, Louie Vega and Blaze to the UK. Further success followed - he was one of the founders of London station Kiss FM and ran the seminal Talkin’ Loud label alongside Gilles Peterson at Phonogram.

Jay’s tireless work as a DJ has earned him many accolades - he has appeared on the BBC’s Question Time, and received an MBE for his work in 2002, the first time any DJ had received such an accolade.

In the wake of his many achievements and the ongoing success of Good Times, Jay has enjoyed a series of essential compilation albums on React, Resist, Nuphonic and Azuli stretching back to 2000, as well as a recent spin-off album, ‘Good Times Australia’. Now, the maestro returns with a special 30th Anniversary collection for Strut, another bumper set of genre-hopping classic and rare Good Times favourites. Tracks include boogie rarity ‘Dreamin’ by short-lived band Zalmac and Fries & Bridges’ ‘Forever This’, a 4x4 belter featuring an early vocal by chart superstar Cee-Lo Green. Jay touches on independent hip hop with Basement Chemist, jazz grooves courtesy of Kira Neris and Attic Tree, skanking reggae from Jacob Miller and doo-wop soul courtesy of Little Anthony & The Imperials.

Norman Jay presents Good Times 30 is released on CD, LP and download. For the CD and LP formats, leading journalist and author Lloyd Bradley interviews Norman Jay for an extensive career-spanning sleeve note. The package also features rare and unseen photos from across Norman Jay’s career as a DJ.


Stay informed of all things Paris DJs and beyond thanks to our Twitter news

Comments are closed

You might also like

Vincent Ahehehinnou - Best Woman

Vincent Ahehehinnou - Best Woman (LP, Analog Africa, 2017)

The latest Analog Africa reissue is up for pre-order on Bandcamp! The album, originally a 1978 release by Orchestre Poly Rythmo's singer Vincent Ahehehinnou, is rare-as-shit, worth nearly 4 figures if you can find a decent copy. There's only 4 tunes, two afrofunk monsters and two ballads, but...
Shadow - Sweet Sweet Dreams

Shadow - Sweet Sweet Dreams (CD/2LP, Analog Africa, 2016)

The 22nd Analog Africa release is a beauty people couldn't begin to imagine how the feeling would be to actually be playing it - until now. As rare as it's insanely great, this long-awaited reissue is the holy grail of Shadow albums. The one featuring the monster cosmic soca disco track 'Let’s Get...