Music Is A Mission

To content | To menu | To search

Mr Confuse - Catch Me - out on Légère Recordings

Mr Confuse Catch Me
Mr Confuse - Catch Me
(7"/Digital) Légère Recordings LEGO 030, 2011-09-05

First the Boogie Down track (a heavy afro funk version of the original by Man Parrish) appeared on the Battle Of The Year - Soundtrack 2010 compilation, then a Never Let The Rhythm Go track was released on a Goodgroove Records 12 inch. Now Mr. Confuse is ready to go! Catch Me is the next preview of his upcoming, second full length album Do You Realize due to hit the streets in September 2011. Exclusively available on 7 inch vinyl only for a limited period Catch Me really catches your ear with an irresistible melody and distinctive vocals. All based on a grounding of groove - a mighty bassline, funky guitar and driving Hammond organ will also "catch" your feet. Turn over from the original version, Newcastle's own Smoove (Jalapeno Records) takes over on Catch Me and you will surely groove along to a gritty, deep Northern Funk stepper.

Mr Confuse Catch Me
Mr Confuse - Catch Me
(7"/Digital) Légère Recordings LEGO 030, 2011-09-05

Tracklisting :
A1. Catch Me
B1. Catch Me (Smoove Remix)

Links :
Mr Confuse : official | soundcloud | myspacediscogs | facebook | youtube | vimeo | spreadshirttwitter
Légère Recordings : official | soundcloud | myspacediscogs | facebook (profile)

Biography :
Mr. Confuse is a producer & DJ from Hannover/Germany. He is a record collector since 1993, started DJing in 1999 and is producing music since 2004.

In early 2005 he founded the producer team Breakout and came up with the idea of reworking the 80s classic "Planet Rock" by Afrika Bambaataa by transforming it into a heavy funk tune. Released on 7" and shortly after on 12" including a jazzy version of "Planet Rock" it sold more than 5000 copies world wide on vinyl only! In early 2007 the Breakout project split shortly before their final release The Funky Goofball/Lyve Wire 7" in summer 2007.

2007 remained a busy year. Mr. Confuse released his productions on various compilations (Brazilectro, Interntional Battle Of The Year Soundtrack and many more). He also recorded three Mix CDs (Catch The Beat, Confunktion and Brazilian Cuts) with different musical focuses.

In September 2008 his first full length solo album "Feel The Fire" was released on DLP, CD and digital on Légère Recordings. The album includes 14 songs. Two of songs are cover versions of Debbie Deb's Freestyle-Electro-Classics "Lookout Weekend" and "When I Hear Music" in a heavy seventies Funk style. Lookout Weekend also was released as 12" Vinyl including a remix by Lack Of Afro and a remix of the album song "Groovin' On The Spot" by Mash & Munkee.

In 2009 two 12 inches followed the album. First the "Do It Right Now" EP including remixes by Smoove, AIFF and Afro Latin Vintage Orchestra. Second the "Imóvel" EP including remixes by Rephrase, Ed Royal, Thomas Blondet, Una Mas Trio and Alan De Lanaire. Also in 2009 Mr. Confuse laid down the first release on the uprising 7" label Freesoul45 Records with two massive HipHop instrumental tunes.

Mr. Confuse's LIVE-Project "Mr. Confuse & The Confusers" was called to existence with a heavy horn section of seven players and true Hammond B3 sound! The Band has 14 Players and recorded a Live-Album during the album release concert in September 2008 which was released as promo CD including audio and the live video of "Lookout Weekend" (Watch it on YouTube:

2009 continues with Mr. Confuse "Feel The Fire - The Remixes" which is available digital and includes all remixes of the three 12" Vinyls plus additional never released before Versions. Including remixes by Smoove, Lack of Afro, AIFF, Rephrase, Ed Royal, Thomas Blondet, Una Mas Trio, Mash & Munkee, The Uptown Felaz, Daytoner, JetTricks, Afro Latin Vintage Orchestra and Alan De Lanaire.

2010 he released various tunes on Goodgroove Records, and Shiftin' Gears Records. Please see his full discography at


Stay informed of all things Paris DJs and beyond thanks to our Twitter news

Comments are closed

You might also like

Brownout - Iron Leg

Premiere : Brownout - Iron Leg (Mickey & The Soul Generation cover)

Austin-based Level One Sound run by our esteemed collegue Adrian Quesada has been the home to many great recordings, from The Funk Ark, Brownout, David Garza, Deer Tick, Natalia Clavier, The Echocentrics, The Electric Peanut Butter Co., Third Root, Money Chicha, etc. - A full fledged...
The Frightnrs - Nothing More To Say

The Frightnrs - Nothing More To Say (CD/LP, Daptone, 2016)

An instant classic, this fantastic reggae-rocksteady album strives directly for legendary status. It's the first album from The Frightnrs, a Brooklyn band signed on the Daptone label, but it'll also be the last one, alas. Dan Klein, the singer with the magical tone, died from ALS last june. Produced...