Music Is A Mission

To content | To menu | To search

Movements 5 - Compiled by Tobias Kirmayer - out on Tramp Records

Movements 5 Tobias Kirmayer Tramp Records

Just one year after the Volume 4, Tobias Kirmayer is back with a new episode in his series of the 'Movement' compilations, on a 16-page CD booklet including detailed liner notes and unseen photographs, or deluxe double-gatefold Vinyl - properly mastered from original 45s. Tobias is one of the greatest soul, funk, R&B & jazz diggers in Europe, relentlessly searching for the supacool rare groove you haven't heard yet. You'll find some of the tracks selected here on youtube, of course, but badly ripped from old vinyl and sounding like your little sister encoded them, at best (well youtube re-encodes them…). So if you're in search of obscure & lost grooves treasures, you've found the right record - and label! Highlights include Bobby Allen & The Exceptions 70s funk piece of 'Soul Chicken', a rare Lee Fields 45 deep funk classic from 1974, 'Funky Screw', one of the best tracks from the timeless 'Story of Jimmy Preacher Ellis' compilation released earlier this year by Tramp Records, vocal/piano jazz covers of 'Summertime' by the Dave Harris Trio and 'It Ain't Necessarily So' by Nannie Porres & Claes-Göran Fagerstedts Trio, and the novelty dancefloor funk of Alley Pat's 'Pat's Rubber Band', previously only a mid-70s private press.

Movements 5 Tobias Kirmayer Tramp Records
Various - Movements 5 - Compiled by Tobias Kirmayer
(CD/2LP/Digital) Tramp Records TR 9021, 2013-04-22

Tracklisting :
01. Bobby Allen & The Exceptions – Soul Chicken
02. Ray Weatherspoon – Stop Stuffin And Start Sho Nuffin
03. Lil' Buck & The Top Cats – Monkey In A Sack
04. Lee Fields – Funky Screw
05. Al Reed – 99/44 100 Pure Love
06. Jimmy Gilford – Nobody Loves Me Like My Baby
07. Lonnie Lester – You Can't Go
08. Jimmy Ellis – Puttin It On Your Mind
09. Eddie Buster Band – Churn The Butter
10. Jimmy Rowles & The Gravel Pit – Behind The Face
11. Iris Bell Trio Feat. Butch Miles – Baby, You've Got Soul
12. Dave Harris Trio – Summertime
13. Nannie Porres & Claes-Göran Fagerstedts Trio – It Ain't Necessarily So
14. Alley Pat – Pat's Rubber Band
15. Wildfire – Tend To Your Business
16. Sunrize – Ease It On In
17. Theodis Ealey – Deepest Sympathy

Links :
Listen & order on, buy on Juno, HHV or from the Tramp label through bandcamp
Tramp Records : official | bandcamp | discogs | kudos (UK distribution) | myspace | parisdjs | soundcloud | youtube

Press Release :
The year is 2013 A.D. True music lovers are forced underground because the whole world has been overrun by multinational media conglomerates... the whole world? Not entirely! There is one small village in Bavaria inhabited by an indomitable DJ whose record label still holds out against the invaders of minimalistic electro sounds and narrow-gauged pop bleat. Life ain't a cakewalk for our mighty little label, but with verve, spirit and a great courage it defends the mission of long-forgotten musicians: to reanimate the soul sounds of the 1960s and 70s.

Ladies and gentlemen - Tramp Records is celebrating its 10th anniversary this year! Founded by music maven and enthusiast Tobias Kirmayer in 2003, the purpose of this label is to prevent privately produced Soul, Jazz and Funk from being forgotten. By maintaining close contact to the living musicians and the families of those who have passed, he underlines that with Tramp Records, honor is given to whom honor is due: the artists. By abiding by this strict line, always following his ears, and trusting his heart, Tobias Kirmayer has gained a worldwide reputation for limited-edition vinyl releases stressing, rarity, quality, integrity, and mystery.

Movements 5 is another representative release for this close collaboration between label and musician. As with previous releases in the Movements series, Volume 5 features detailed liner notes that include unpublished band photos that may have never seen the light of day had it not been for Tramp's mutually beneficial artist/label relationships. The happiness and pride felt in an enthusiastic "Thank you man!" from a 75-year old funk musician could not be counterbalanced by all the gold in the whole world. Tobias Kirmayer would like to thank all loyal souls and defenders of expelled music for their never ending support and hopes that all the tasty tidbits expected to drop this month will sweeten the start of a new decade.

HIP-HIP-HURRAY and CHEERS to Tramp Records, the artists, and all the loyal fans!


Stay informed of all things Paris DJs and beyond thanks to our Twitter news

Comments are closed

You might also like

Paris DJs Private Record Store new arrivals & back in stock vinyl #1

Our little record store in the north-east of Paris is slowly but surely becoming a thing, with more and more friendly people coming by to grab the vinyl (or CDs) they've reserved on our discogs page. We were known for welcoming bands and artists to "studio time & diner", now diggers...
Funkadelic - Reworked By Detroiters

Funkadelic - Reworked By Detroiters (CD/12"/3LP, Westbound, 2017)

Paris DJs' history with George Clinton & the Parliament/Funkadelic crew is a very long one… It culminated first in 2006 when we were asked to cook some exclusive remixes (including a mad dub rework from Grant Phabao, approved by the Dr. Funkenstein himself, you can still grab the free download...