Music Is A Mission

To content | To menu | To search

Lonnie Lester - The Story Of (CD/LP, Tramp Records, 2013)

The Story Of Lonnie Lester

Lonnie Lester cut some fantastic & raw funky grooves, R'n'B, blues and soul screamers in the 1960s, but remains quite unknown to the general public, even though some of his best 45s from that period get played by Northern Soul DJs all over the world - well, the small world of funk 45s music collectors… Take for example 'You Can't Go', and get entranced by its late night party feeling - quite irresistible! Another famous one is 'Ain't That A Shame' and its pounding uptempo soul/R&B groove with gritty vocals. Thanks to German label Tramp Records (celebrating their 10th anniversary this year), all those rare Northern Soul classics are now widely available, compiled in a limmited edition CD or vinyl LP anthology with a full booklet including Lonnie's detailed biography! Lonnie Lester is one of the great underrated soul legends, and the reissue of all those 60s singles with a fantastic sound quality is an history lesson every real funkster should attend!

The Story Of Lonnie Lester
Lonnie Lester - The Story Of
(CD/LP/Digital) Tramp Records TR 9023, 2013-06-10

Tracklisting :
01. So This Is Love 02:52
02. The Meanest Man In Town 02:12
03. Jay Walk 02:40
04. You Can't Go 02:21
05. You Choose 02:33
06. Git Down 02:30
07. Ain't That A Shame 02:39
08. I Know (Nu-Tone Version) 03:22
09. Power Structure Pt.1 02:33
10. Power Structure Pt.2 01:48
11. Can't Let You Go Pt.1 02:34
12. Can't Let You Go Pt.2 02:34
13. I Have Never Been Blue 03:05
14. I Know (B&G Version) 03:06
15. So This Is Love (alternate) 02:49
16. The Meanest Man In Town (alternate) 02:03

Links :
Listen & order on, Juno, HHV or from the Tramp label through bandcamp
Tramp Records : official | bandcamp | discogs | kudos (UK distribution) | myspace | parisdjs | soundcloud | youtube
Lonnie Lester : official | discogs | soundcloud | twitter

Fan made video of You Can't Go

Press Release :
Tramp Records continues to celebrate its 10th anniversary with another exciting release in the Story of series. Lonnie Lester is one of those unsung heroes of 1960s Rhythm & Blues who has gained little recognition for his talents. Although his songs are current dance floor favourites in soul clubs all over Europe, this is the first-ever compilation of his 1960s material.

Born in Dorena, Missouri in 1937, Lonnie is the oldest of thirteen children. In 1946 his family moved to Gary, Indiana. Encouraged by his grandmother, he started singing in church at the age of six. As a teenager he performed with doo-wop (a style of music popularized in the 1950′s sung in harmony) groups in and around Gary. After being on the road with Bill Nixon and Junior Walker, and serving a stint in the U.S. Air Force, he ended up in San Francisco in 1959. While there he opened for R&B stars like Sam & Dave, the Drifters, Aretha Franklin, Little Willy John, and many others.

The next big step was his move to Chicago, Illinois, where he cut more than a handful of R&B/soul singles for the Nu-Tone label. The backing band was under the leadership of Chuck Danzy. When Lonnie came to Indianapolis in 1969, he performed at the Honey Dripper Lounge, the End Zone, and the Vineyards. During the early 70′s, he formed a five-piece band called Lonnie Lester & Touch. In the 80′s he traveled the country with his band in addition to performing in the Indianapolis area. Over the years he has donated time to the Women’s Prison, Riley Children’s Hospital, Veterans Hospital, and many other community organizations.

Lonnie recently celebrated his 75th birthday and continues to perform in the Indianapolis, Indiana area.


Stay informed of all things Paris DJs and beyond thanks to our Twitter news

Comments are closed

You might also like

Paris DJs Private Record Store new arrivals & back in stock vinyl #1

Our little record store in the north-east of Paris is slowly but surely becoming a thing, with more and more friendly people coming by to grab the vinyl (or CDs) they've reserved on our discogs page. We were known for welcoming bands and artists to "studio time & diner", now diggers...
Funkadelic - Reworked By Detroiters

Funkadelic - Reworked By Detroiters (CD/12"/3LP, Westbound, 2017)

Paris DJs' history with George Clinton & the Parliament/Funkadelic crew is a very long one… It culminated first in 2006 when we were asked to cook some exclusive remixes (including a mad dub rework from Grant Phabao, approved by the Dr. Funkenstein himself, you can still grab the free download...