Music Is A Mission

To content | To menu | To search

Kraak & Smaak - Electric Hustle - out on Jalapeno Records

Kraak and Smaak Electric Hustle
Kraak & Smaak - Electric Hustle
(CD/2xLP/Digital) Jalapeno JAL113, 2011-04-22

Jalapeno's biggest success story are Kraak & Smaak who have become global stars with US TV appearances, headline festival slots and celebrity fans like Kanye West & Perez Hilton blogging and tweeting every time something new is released. The Dutch electro-funkers are on the verge of releasing their third album featuring collaborations with Romanthony and some other soon to be revealed star turns, as well as Sebastian and Lex - the singers from their live band. They released their first album Boogie Angst in 05 winning them a legion of new fans including Rob Da Bank, Annie Nightingale and Pete Tong on Radio 1 in the UK and Jason Bentley from KCRW in LA. In 08, they released the follow up Plastic People including the smash single Squeeze Me with Ben Westbeech on vocals. As happy touring their live band as they are DJ'ing - 2011 will be the year Kraak & Smaak cement their place at the top of the electronic scene.

Kraak and Smaak Electric Hustle
Kraak & Smaak - Electric Hustle
(CD/2xLP/Digital) Jalapeno JAL113, 2011-04-22

Call Up To Heaven feat. Lex Empress by Kraak & Smaak

Tracklisting :
01. Built For Love feat. Romanthony 6:07
02. Let's Go Back feat. Romanthony5:27
03. Dynamite feat. Sebastian 4:07
04. Hold Back Love feat. Lex Empress 4:40
05. Call Up To Heaven feat. Lex Empress 4:46
06. Wasted With A Smile feat. John Turrell 5:13
07. Never Too Late feat. Janne Schra 4:32
08. Fairy Falling feat. Lex Empress 4:46
09. Forget About You feat. Lee Fields 4:37
10. My Synths Are The Bomb 5:30
11. The Storm feat. Lex Empress 5:56
12. Turrell's Lament feat. John Turrell 5:27
13. Have It All feat. Dez and Fred Wesley (iTunes bonus track)
14. Dynamite (Kraak & Smaak's Booge Funk Version) (iTunes bonus track)
15. Dynamite (video) (iTunes bonus)

Links :

Press Release :
2011 is the year that Wim Plug, Mark Kneppers and Oscar De Jong - a.k.a. Kraak & Smaak - will take centre stage with the release of their third studio album ‘Electric Hustle'. ‘Electric Hustle' achieves a more electronic sound than their previous two releases, but still has the unmistakeable Kraak & Smaak style and moves effortlessly from nu-disco through deep electronic funk to upbeat hand in the air anthems.

The album is sure to satisfy their growing army of fans as well as winning over new converts, with new singer Lex Empress contributing songs alongside the band's MC Sebastian, rising UK bluesman John Turrell and Dutch songstress Janne Schra. A testament to their unique style, the distinctive voice of house don Romanthony can be heard alongside New York funk legend Lee Fields, bringing a brilliant diversity to the album which is weaved together by the trademark Kraak & Smaak beats and incredible keyboard playing.

K&S has consistently built a fan base based on their incredible live shows, with performances at a number of the world's most high profile festivals including Glastonbury, Big Chill, Bestival, and Coachella. Annie Nightingale has been a long-standing supporter of the band, and the various guest mixes and plays on her BBC Radio 1 show have led to numerous festival bookings and other high profile DJ's getting on board.

In between the first and second albums the boys also released a double CD of their favourite remixes including work for Jamiroquai and Richard Dorfmeister. Since then their remix catalogue has continued to grow, with Maxwell, Junkie XL, Sam Sparro, Fedde le Grand, Darwin Deez, Hurts, and Sander Kleinenberg all being re-touched with the Kraak & Smaak sound. Following the success of single ‘Dynamite' the next single will be ‘Call Up To Heaven feat Lex Empress' and will feature mixes from Gramophonedzie, Parov Stelar and Smoove.


Stay informed of all things Paris DJs and beyond thanks to our Twitter news

Comments are closed

You might also like

Paris DJs Private Record Store new arrivals & back in stock vinyl #1

Our little record store in the north-east of Paris is slowly but surely becoming a thing, with more and more friendly people coming by to grab the vinyl (or CDs) they've reserved on our discogs page. We were known for welcoming bands and artists to "studio time & diner", now diggers...
Funkadelic - Reworked By Detroiters

Funkadelic - Reworked By Detroiters (CD/12"/3LP, Westbound, 2017)

Paris DJs' history with George Clinton & the Parliament/Funkadelic crew is a very long one… It culminated first in 2006 when we were asked to cook some exclusive remixes (including a mad dub rework from Grant Phabao, approved by the Dr. Funkenstein himself, you can still grab the free download...