Music Is A Mission

To content | To menu | To search

Jan Kohlmeyer - Yuletide DJ Mix II

Jan Kohlmeyer Yuletide DJ Mix for Paris DJs

To be honest, Christmas music on earthly radio seems to be the worst in the Milky Way. Just imagine an alien picking up our radio waves on his journey through the galaxy - what would he think of our conception of Christmas music? Would he land on planet earth at all?
Of all things, this year it is planet earth that has something seasonal to offer - something the galaxy has never seen before. Galactic garden gnomes will surely have a fling to 'Santa's Funk & Soul Christmas Party Vol.2'. And all Martians will be snapping their fingers to the groove: Yuletide nerd Jan Kohlmeyer has put together another amazing collection of hip-shaking Christmas songs. Merry Christmas everybody!

Some of you remember mix 1 (still available here) that has been downloaded thousands of times(!). We asked Jan to contribute another exclusive mix for Paris DJs. Well, he gave us two more. Another 60min mix to promote Volume 1 of his CD series and an additional 60min mix featuring all of the tracks of Volume 2 of 'Santa’s Funk & Soul Christmas Party' (to be published very soon).

Jan Kohlmeyer Yuletide DJ Mix for Paris DJs
Jan Kohlmeyer - Yuletide DJ Mix II for Paris DJs
(MP3 Podcast on 2013-12-11

Le fil RSS
[comment faire?/how to?]

Tracklisting (Santa’s Funk & Soul Christmas Party Vol. 1) :
01. Rufus Thomas - I'll Be Your Santa
02. Lou Rawls - Santa Claus Is Coming To Town
03. Gary Walker - Santa’s Got A Brand New Bag (Poppa’s Got A Brand New Bag)
04. Lee Rogers - You Won't Have To Wait Till Xmas
05. Detroit Junior - Christmas Day
06. Rose Graham - Black Christmas
07. Vernon Garrett With Sir Stan & The Counts - Merry Christmas Baby
08. Jimmy Reed - Christmas Present Blues
09. Jimmy Jules & The Nuclear Soul System - Xmas Done Got Funky
10. Clarence Carter - Back Door Santa
11. Run DMC - Christmas In Hollis
12. Lefties Soul Connection - Back Door Santa
13. Short Stuff - Merry Christmas Baby
14. The Jpc Gang - Christmas Delight
15. Bill Withers - Let Us Love
16. James Brown - Signs Of Christmas
17. Solomon Burke - Presents For Christmas
18. Bobby Holloway - Funky Little Drummer Boy
19. Funk Machine - Soul Santa
20. James Brown - Hey America, It’s Christmas
21. Martin Mull With The Sondra Baskin Glee Club - Santafly
22. Albert King - Santa Claus Wants Some Lovin
23. Andre Williams - Christmas Wish
24. Freddy King - I Hear Jingle Bells
25. Lou Rawls - Good Time Christmas
26. James Brown - Santa Claus Goes Straight To The Ghetto
27. Lou Rawls - Christmas Will Really Be Christmas
28. Ella Fitzgerald - Jingle Bells
29. B.B. King - Christmas Celebration
30. Lowell Fulsom - The Original Lonesome Christmas (Pt.I)
31. Binky Griptite - Holliday Breakdown

Notes : tracks 03, 04, 05, 06, 07, 08, and 09 are featured on the CD/LP/mp3 compilation titled 'Santa's Funk & Soul Christmas Party' released on Tramp Records. Tracks 13 and 21 are featured on the CD/LP/mp3 compilation titled Santa's Funk & Soul Christmas Party Vol II' just released on Tramp Records. Check it out here.

Download MP3

Credits :
Selected and mixed by Jan Kohlmeyer
Audio mastering by Grant Phabao (

Funky Christmas : official | facebook | soundcloud
DJ Jan Kohlmeyer : official | youtube
Tramp Records : official | bandcamp | discogs | kudos (UK distribution) | parisdjs
Paris DJs : | bandcamp | facebook | pinterest | soundcloud | twitter | youtube

Original cover artworks :



Stay informed of all things Paris DJs and beyond thanks to our Twitter news

Comments are closed

You might also like

Paris DJs Soundsystem - Dont Sell Your Soul 45s

Paris DJs Soundsystem - Wearplay LP#20 - Don't Sell Your Soul 45s (T-shirt/Mix bundle, Paris DJs/Le T-shirt Français, 2017)

In the back of my mind I had this idea for quite some time, of a selection of vinyl we have in stock at the Paris DJs Record Store. In between other projects I finally managed to make it a reality, thanks to Erik Rug and Loik Dury who helped me pick the best tunes from our 45s stocks, thanks to...
Paris DJs Soundsystem - The Highlife Express - Deep and Funky Africa 80s

Paris DJs Soundsystem - Wearplay LP#16 - The Highlife Express - Deep & Funky Africa 80's (T-shirt/Mix bundle, Paris DJs/Le T-shirt Français, 2017)

Hot on the heels of the first season of 15 episodes of Paris DJs & Le T-shirt Français "Wearplay" series, combining clothing, music and graphic design, we're already back with the first episode of the second season! While we won't be able to release a new episode every day of the week...