Music Is A Mission

To content | To menu | To search

Grant Phabao and Djouls - 21st Century Afro Spectacular Vol.2

Grant Phabao and Djouls 21st Century Afro Spectacular Vol 2

Afrobeat is a form of music that's already been perfected and there are many bands who are just trying to attain that, most of the time writing their own compositions which reflect their own influences. Sometimes they'll play a Cuban clave or something else which somehow or other still fits. So unless Fela comes back to them and says Don't play Afrobeat, they're gonna keep on doing it. Here's our second spectacular selection of new cool afro grooves from some of those bands, with a second exclusive track from the Grant Phabao Afrobeat Arkestra, to be released on a limited 7 inch in september, friendly vibes from Adrian Quesada (remixing Vieux Farka Touré or producing The Funk Ark), Chico Mann, Mr Confuse, Seun Kuti, Hard Proof, Anthony Joseph, Ticklah (producing Sierra Leone's Refugee All Stars), The Public Opinion Afro Orchestra, Doctor L and Kiala, more friendly vibes sent by our label collegues from Jack To Phono, Electric Cowbell, ESL Music, Ubiquity, Jazz&Milk, BBE Music or Names You Can Trust, and, of course, some thingies we grabbed here and there. 21st Century Afrobeat, Afrofunk, Afrolatin and Ethio grooves from all over the world, selected by Djouls, mixed and fully mastered by Grant Phabao. Do you want more? Did you already get our 21st Century Afro Extravaganza and the first volume of our 21st Century Afro Spectacular?

Grant Phabao and Djouls 21st Century Afro Spectacular Vol 2
Grant Phabao & Djouls - 21st Century Afro Spectacular Vol.2
(MP3 Podcast on 2012-04-29

Le fil RSS
[comment faire?/how to?]

Tracklisting :
01. 00:00 Debo Band - Gedawo (Kiddid Gedubwo Mix)
(from 'Gedawo' 7 inch, 2011 / Electric Cowbell) info | juno
02. 03:38 Vieux Farka Touré - Sarama (Brownout Remix)
(from 'Other Roads: Fondo Remixed' compilation, 2009 / Six Degrees) info | juno | junodownload
03. 07:47 Oddisee - Al Mawrada
(from 'Odd Seasons' album bonus 7 inch, 2011 / Mello Music Group) info | juno | junodownload
04. 11:28 Pro Kid - Abagcwali
(from 'DNA' album, 2006 / Gallo Record Company) info
05. 16:03 Congo Sanchez - T.E.T.O. (Strut)
(from 'Vol. 1' EP, 2012 / ESL Music) info | juno | junodownload
06. 21:17 Burro Morto - Volte Amor
(from 'Baptista Virou Máquina' album, 2011 / One Cell) info | juno
07. 23:04 The Funk Ark - Green Trees
(from 'High Noon' album, 2012 / ESL Music) info | juno | junodownload
08. 27:35 Chico Mann - Electric Búgalu (Instro)
(from 'Manifest Tone Vol.2' EP, 2009 / self-released) info | juno | bandcamp
09. 30:14 Phase 5 Stereo - A Two A Afro
(from '8 Track' album, 2012 / Jack To Phono) info | juno | junodownload
10. 33:53 Mr. Confuse - Boogie Down
(from 'Do You Realize' album, 2012 / Légère Recordings) info | juno | junodownload
11. 37:50 Jungle Fire - Comencemos (Let's Start)
(from 'Jungle Fire' digital single, 2012 / self-released) bandcamp
12. 40:12 Monophonics - Ageless feat. Karl Denson
(from 'Into The Infrasounds' album, 2010 / Ageless) info | juno | junodownload
13. 46:30 Seun Kuti And The Egypt 80 - You Can Run
(from 'From Africa With Fury: Rise' album, 2011 / Because Music) info | juno | junodownload
14. 52:03 Ikebe Shakedown - Tame The Beats
(from 'Ikebe Shakedown' album, 2011 / Ubiquity) info | juno
15. 55:25 Grant Phabao Afrofunk Arkestra - Ogun (45 Edit)
(from 'Ogun' upcoming 7 inch, 2012 / Volcom Entertainment) info
16. 59:34 Ray Lugo - Super Saoco
(from 'We Walk Around Like This' album, 2012 / Jazz&Milk) info | juno | junodownload
17. 65:34 KG Omulo - Quality Women
(from 'Ayah Ye! Moving Train' album, 2012 / self-released) info
18. 69:05 Hard Proof - No Consideration
(from 'Hard Proof' album, 2010 / Hard Proof Music) info
19. 73:53 Boddhi Satva - Nankoumandjan
(from 'Invocation' album, 2012 / BBE Music) info | juno | junodownload
20. 79:57 Duke - Freedom In Africa (Midnight Lab Band Original Dub)
(from 'Names You Can Trust' exclusive free downloads, 2010 / Names You Can Trust) info
21. 83:05 Anthony Joseph - Started Off As A Dancer
(from 'Started Off As A Dancer' single, 2012 / Heavenly Sweetness) info | juno | junodownload
22. 86:52 United Vibrations - No Space No Time
(from 'Galaxies Not Ghettos' album / 2011 / 12 Tone) info | juno | junodownload
23. 87:59 Sierra Leone's Refugee All Stars - Mother In Law
(from 'Radio Salone' album, 2012 / Cumbancha) info | juno | junodownload
24. 93:05 The Public Opinion Afro Orchestra - Mr Clean Part 1
(from 'Mr Clean' 7 inch, 2011 / HopeStreet Recordings) info | juno | junodownload
25. 97:10 Doctor L - Prison
(exclusive new track, 2012 / Doctor L) info
Total time : 101:11

Original cover artworks :

Download MP3

Credits :
Selected by Grant Phabao and Djouls from the Paris DJs Soundsystem (
Mix and audio mastering by Grant Phabao (
Artwork layout by Djouls (, borrowing from Kakaiku Band's Akyinkyin artcover

Links :
Paris DJs : official | facebook | myspace | parisdjs | soundcloud | twitter | youtube


Stay informed of all things Paris DJs and beyond thanks to our Twitter news

Comments are closed

You might also like

Paris DJs Soundsystem presents Vito - Selecta 01 - Soulful Grooves

Paris DJs Soundsystem presents Vito - Selecta 01 - Soulful Grooves

A long-time activist of the French music scene, Vito has never sold his soul to the music industry. Quite the opposite, he was a member of the Hérétik crew, and probably one of the amazing guys who made the legendary rave at the Piscine Molitor in Paris happen, during the spring of 2001 (among...
Paris DJs Soul System - Live Dub Session 2018

Paris DJs Soul System - Wearplay LP#29 - Live Dub Session 2018 (T-shirt/Mix bundle, Paris DJs/Le T-shirt Français, 2018)

Back from their gig at the Glastonbury Festival in 2013, the Paris DJs collective decided to up the game with a brand new stage concept called the Paris DJs Soul System, an innovative show blending deejaying and old school dub session, all with original tunes and remixes, taken from nearly two...