Music Is A Mission

To content | To menu | To search

Fink - Wheels Turn Beneath My Feet - out on Ninja Tune

Fink Wheels Turn Beneath My Feet

You can't be serious and offer mp3s for Xmas, can you? In those mp3 times, it's good to see some fine workmanship from labels and artists avoiding the boring CD plastic case scenario too. So If you seek the perfect gift, Fink's first live album comes at the right time. The CD documents the 'Perfect Darkness' 2011 tour in Europe (From Copenhagen to Prague, From Paris to Vienna, London, Amsterdam...) and is presented in a strong matt paper 84-page hard-bound bookpack featuring great pics from Dutch photographer Tommy N Lance. He's captured the essence of the tour with a focus on backstage preparation's details or trivial scenes (like this funny shot of Fink ironing a T-shirt) coming along with the more classical 'live' pics. On stage Fink is a convincing artist who is able to rewrite the script, stretching out the originals in epic and surprising ways like this moving version of 'Blueberry Pancakes' or this dubbish 'Sort of Revolution', among other classics.

Fink Wheels Turn Beneath My Feet
Fink - Wheels Turn Beneath My Feet (Live Album + Bookpack) Ninja Tune ZENCD189, 2012-10-08

Tracklisting :
01. Biscuits (live from Amager Bio, Copenhagen)
02. Perfect Darkness (live from Union Chapel, London)
03. Fear Is Like Fire (live from Koko, London)
04. Yesterday Was Hard On All Of Us (live from Paradiso, Amsterdam)
05. Blueberry Pancakes (live from WUK, Vienna)
06. Trouble’s What You’re In (live from Union Chapel, London)
07. Berlin Sunrise (live from La Cigale, Paris)
08. Warm Shadow (live from Epicerie Moderne, Lyon)
09. Honesty (live from La Cigale, Paris)
10. Wheels (live from Paradiso, Amsterdam)
11. This Is The Thing (live from Paradiso, Amsterdam)
12. Sort Of Revolution (live from La Cigale, Paris)
13. Pretty Little Thing (live from Meetfactory, Prague)

Nicolas Ragonneau

Nicolas Ragonneau

Stay informed of all things Paris DJs and beyond thanks to our Twitter news

Comments are closed

You might also like

Vincent Ahehehinnou - Best Woman

Vincent Ahehehinnou - Best Woman (LP, Analog Africa, 2017)

The latest Analog Africa reissue is up for pre-order on Bandcamp! The album, originally a 1978 release by Orchestre Poly Rythmo's singer Vincent Ahehehinnou, is rare-as-shit, worth nearly 4 figures if you can find a decent copy. There's only 4 tunes, two afrofunk monsters and two ballads, but...
Shadow - Sweet Sweet Dreams

Shadow - Sweet Sweet Dreams (CD/2LP, Analog Africa, 2016)

The 22nd Analog Africa release is a beauty people couldn't begin to imagine how the feeling would be to actually be playing it - until now. As rare as it's insanely great, this long-awaited reissue is the holy grail of Shadow albums. The one featuring the monster cosmic soca disco track 'Let’s Get...